Save The Bees!

I have wanted to start a wildflower garden for a few years, now. Not only are they beautiful and low maintenance but the bees need them! And we need bees.

I didn’t know how I wanted to start. I could buy a hundred seed packets but hat seems like a pain. I did a lot of searches through companies that sell flower bulbs and seeds in bulk but never ordered anything.

A few days ago, a friend shared a post to facebook about a company called Seedles. They (a husband and wife team) sell colorful seed bombs and wildflower seed balls through their website, growtherainbow.com. Their mission is to “inspire kids to grow one billion wildflowers to bring back the bees and ensure a sustainable food system for their future”. Sold. This was my chance to start my wildflower garden, do my part to help save the bees, teach our children the importance of bees, and support a small, family business. (They currently make each seed ball themselves!) I placed my order right away. 50 North East Wildflower Seedles, 1 pack of Thyme Bombs (herbs), and 20 Hummingbird and Butterfly Seedles.

It’s been difficult to convince our 7 year old that we need bees! It’s difficult to explain the difference between the wasps and hornets, which he has had bad experiences with, and honey bees. We are finally making some progress but I think this will really get him interested.

I will  be sure to update this spring when we have planted our Seedles! In the meantime, I encourage others to check out the website and support the mission!

Native Wildflower Seed Balls Seed Bombs

Leave a Reply

